For Good

It’s been a Wicked kind of day, and I have been listening to the soundtrack over and over again. There is such an underlining theme in that musical, that seems to catch me by surprise in many different ways every single time.

Today, the last song, For Good hit me in such a way that I have been able to understand something about saying good-bye or moving on, or growing and paths begin to go in opposite directions.

“I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return.”

That part spoke right to where I am with relationships in my life right now. God leads us to the people who will make an impact that will help us grow, learn and become more like him in our everyday lives. When these relationships begin to form, there becomes a sense of trust, and community begins to form. Those people who help us along the path, we will in return do the same for them.

The last part of that, “If we let them”. That’s where I fall. I think that I can just play superhuman and help everyone, but when it is turned towards me, I usually don’t let people help me. I am working on it, and I am starting to see that it is true, that is really where the growing begins, when we make our walls fall, and start to reach a point where the conversation that we have in a community, is uplifting, loving, and for God’s glory in all that we do.

After thinking about that, then I hear the verse that Elphaba sings, and I start to think about ministry. We have those close relationships that we are able to let trust form, and accountability is key, but what about our everyday lives? We are called to live by the example of Christ, but is that what we are really doing? Will we be the people who people are able to say this about:

“It well may be
That we will never meet again
In this lifetime
So let me say before we part
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you
You’ll be with me
Like a hand print on my heart
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have re-written mine”

The person in the grocery story that you are kind to, or the encouragement that you give to someone may only happen once, and the way that you approached a certain situation has left such an impact that the person’s life will never be the same. You may NEVER see them again in this life, but maybe, through the small action that you took to give Christ to someone else, plants a seed that will grow into a faith that someone will make their own.

There are so many other parts of this song, as well as the whole musical that I have had to stop and think about, and often it challenges me to think in a different way than what I have once thought.

Today, I am going to try to focus on the relationships that build me up, and love, support and encourage me. I have had my fair share of relationships that cut me down, and break off my self-worth, but I am working on it, and by the new people Christ has brought into my life, I am seeing that yes, letting them in is a good thing, and it helps you grow and learn.

The final thing that I got out of this song….If I am really going to grow up to be a church planter, evangelist, pastor, whatever….I am going to be setting an example in my everyday life, I must die to myself NOW and let Christ become who I define myself with, and work on that. I may never see some of the people who I come into contact with again, but I hope that through my life and actions they will see the love of Christ in all that I do. 

Leave a Reply

