Hope.

“But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” ~Isiah 40:31

This verse seems to have a close tie to my heart. As I read it, I pick it apart, piece by piece and find the truth and hope that God has imbedded in it for me.

“But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength…”~For quite some time now, I have been working on putting my hope in God instead of other things. For a long time, I was putting my hope in looking beautiful, or being “okay”(Whatever that means) or having good friends, or whatever it is that day, and putting God second in all of it-I was exhausted, worn out, and fed up. I have found myself recently back in this position. I have been putting my hope in things of this world. Such as having a good group of friends-then I will be happy, and I can do God’s will. Or having the idea of perfection in my head, and once I gain that in my life, I will be happy, and I will feel more energized and able to God’s work. I have come to realize in the past few days that this is wrong, and this idea is not the way it should be. I do NOT need to be putting my hope in things of this world, that will gain me noting, and I will be exhausted still-instead I will put my hope in the Lord, and my strength will be renewed, and I will be able to go out and do His will for my life.

The rest of the verse leaves me thinking about the race that we are running in this life. If I continue to put my hope in the Lord, he will renew my strength, and everything else will follow. We are not promised an easy life, but God has things in store for us, if we put our trust in him.

I guess really the main reason why this verse is so close to my heart tonight is because of all of the stuff that is going on. I am always looking for the next best thing to place my hope in, but in reality, I know that nothing will satisfy this longing that I have in my heart to feel a peace-quite like placing my hope in Christ will.

Leave a Reply

