Hebrews 13:5 <3

“I will never leave you, nor forsake you,”~ Hebrews 13:5

 

I was convinced that graduation would be the day that I would dread and cry through, not enjoying a single bit of and hate everything about it…

 

Well, I woke up last Sunday morning with the most unbelievable peace. I had cried for so many days, that this new peace that was resting right on my heart was a nice change for once.

 

I didn’t really pay much attention to it, just being thankful that it was there, to get me through. But it did way more than that. I cried on the way to Greenville, it seemed as if song after song was tailored to me and graduation Sunday, but other than that, there weren’t too many more tears.

 

I was able to sit through a beautiful…hot, but beautiful ceremony that was highlighting some of the most influential people to walk into my life so far. All of them dressed in their GC graduation best. I was truly happy for them. I was able to enjoy the commencement service, and be happy and joyful for the next chapter of their lives.

 

There were a few times during the ceremony that I began to tear up, and felt the enemy pushing for control…Telling me that they were all about to walk out of my life, leaving me all alone. Filling my head with lies like, they don’t love you, I told you they would leave, everyone always does, but I kept fighting for the true joy that comes from the Lord, and it finally came.

 

The final person that I knew walked across the stage, and received their diploma and shook the hand of the president. It hit me, like a ton of bricks…Hebrews 13:5. This verse was always thrown at me when I would begin to believe the lies that were being fed to me.

 

God said I will NEVER leave you, nor forsake you….Wow, the God that I had blocked out all semester. The God that I yelled at for a whole day, the God that I was ready to walk away from, said that he would NEVER leave me….

 

I was overcome by the reality, of this, and the reality that the people driving away from Greenville for the last time would never leave me either. We are a community. A Christian community. Even if I never see some of them again, they have changed me, they have changed the way I think, the way I act, and the way that I view God. For some reason, this simple truth gave me hope, and I am totally okay with graduation now….Thanks be to God….That was a rough few days that I never want to relive…ha.

Leave a Reply

