Baby Seesters <3

For as long as I can remember, I have always wanted a baby sister. I would ask for one for my birthday, Easter, Christmas, Valentines day, and every other Hallmark holiday that was celebrated or acknowledged in the my house.

 

Here I am 20 years old, and do I have a biological sister? Nope, I have a little brother that came when I was two, but that was it. No sister in my family.

 

But, as I have grown and matured, and become more involved in the church and the body of Christ, I have gained so many little sisters, and what a blessing they all have been.

 

There is just something about those texts that come through, that say, hey big sis, I love you, or I need you, or here is what is going on in my life, that make me grateful for the way God has given me this desire of my heart in such a unique way.

 

This past Sunday, I went to the final performance of Encounter for this season. I was really excited to go and to watch, as well as participate in the worship service.

 

One of my little sisters in particular, Melissa has a solo…. I have heard this solo 3 times, and this was going to be the 4th time… Every time I have heard it, I have cried, so, I was expecting to be recording it with one hand, and wiping tears away with the other.

 

I had a feeling that this time was going to be different for some reason. I knew that she had done it many many times before, but I just had a feeling this was going to be an amazing time.

 

She stepped up to the microphone, everything else faded away. She was so lost in worship. It was the most beautiful thing that I have even seen. At one point, she turned back and looked at the choir, it was in that very moment that it hit me…

 

Melissa will be a senior this year. It’s her turn to lead… Just like she did with her worship on Sunday evening, she will be leading in so many ways this year.

 

I was crying for so many reasons. She was so engrossed in worship that it brought tears to my eyes, her voice is truly beautiful, which also brought tears to my eyes, and then to realize that my senior year, I met her as a freshman, and we have grown together ever since, made me bawl.

 

She is going to love some crazy freshman next year, just like I have loved her, and I cannot wait for her to see just how much of a leader she is deep down inside.

 

It’s her turn to lead that group; it’s her turn to be that key example… Just like me and Greenville, with my senior friends leaving… God is pretty cool. (:

 

So, my dear little sister….It’s time for you to become a big sister. Your life and heart are so dedicated to God, and someone needs that. Give them that hope that you have inside of you, give them that love they are so desperately needing, and most importantly, be that big sister that they have always wanted. (:

 

I love you Missa. Thank you for being apart of my life for the past 5 years. You truly are the best little sister that a girl could ask for.

 

Then, just one microphone over, is Melissa’s twin sister Melanie. Her back was turned to me, so I couldn’t really see her face, but all of a sudden, her hands are raised in praise, and this over flow of joy comes flooding from my heart.

 

God didn’t just bless me with one little sister, he blessed me with two.

 

To watch my little sisters, be so surrounded by God’s love and to fully experience his grace while singing praises to his name was one of the greatest feelings I have ever experienced.

 

Melanie has always been the one to send me a smile from across the room, to make all the “stuff” in my life fade away.

 

Both of my little sisters are going to become amazing amazing leaders this year, and I am so excited for both of them.

 

Melanie, there are so many people in this world who need to know that everything is going to be okay… You have such a heart of God, and a mind that is geared towards loving people. Use those gifts this year, and let God’s light shine through you.

 

Girls, I love you both so very much. I am so proud of the women of God that you are becoming. You have no idea how much you both mean to  mean.

 

I have the BEST little sisters in the world, and I am so proud of them. ❤

Leave a Reply

