Spring break…In words.

Spring break. It was the best thing that has happened in a long time. I don’t think that I have been that excited about something in quite some time. I was getting away from Illinois, and all the stuff that I have accumulated over the past year. I was able to get away from school, from home, and most importantly, reality.

 

I packed my matching suitcases, my pink sparkle guitar, and headed up to Wisconsin, to stay with the lovely Van de Loo family for a week.

 

I drove to Blakeley’s house first, and dropped my car off there. During the ride up to DeKalb, I was thinking about what the week would look like. It would be really different than anything that I was used to, and I was pretty excited about that.

 

Blake and I started talking about life and such right as we pulled on the interstate. Her presence was calming, and her heart was beautiful. Everything that she spoke was God honoring. The 4-hour car ride to Megan’s was exactly what my little heart needed to get the week going. We talked, laughed and bonded, and then we reached our destination.

 

I have never in my life met a family that was as loving as the Van de Loo’s. We walked up the stairs, and were greeted by hugs, smile, and the comfort of knowing all things were going to be okay. For a little while, there was peace.

 

It was a week filled with peace actually. But, along with that peace came confusion, crazy thoughts, and a hard time wrapping my head around all of this love that was being thrown at me.

 

What do I mean? Well, they are wonderful. They love each other, they care, they watch TV together, they eat together, and they actually care about how the others in their family are doing…It was a new concept. Don’t get me wrong, it was the best thing ever, just different. It took me a while to adjust to this unconditional love that was poured out for me for openly daily, hourly, every single second.

 

I thought about my own life, and how I had been brought up. I was angry for a while, sad for a little while, and even grateful for a little while. I grew up the way I did, so that these people, could put into practice this amazing gift of love that God has so graciously given them…Blakeley too.

 

The Van de Loo’s taught me a lot last week. It was so needed. The way that they care about people really did blow my mind. They would come home and ask me how my day was, and how I was doing… It was awesome.  I feel asleep each night with a sense of peace and security. I don’t know what they are doing, but I sure hope they keep doing it, because there are tons of people in the world who need people to love them like the Van de Loo’s do.

 

 

It was a great break. Filled with trips to the cow store. Ice cream place. Snow shoeing. Good conversation. LOST. Sleeping in. and doing nothing. I would say that spring break 2013 was the best ever.

Leave a Reply

